districts had been established. There are 32 cities, 12 towns, 56 villages and 39 districts; the latter are mostly rural municipalities although there are some districts adjacent to the principal cities of Victoria and Vancouver that are largely urban in character. It should be emphasized, however, that in British Columbia the application of the name 'city' is somewhat different from the commonly accepted meaning; because of their small size, perhaps one half or more of the 32 cities would not normally be incorporated as such in another province. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

In addition to the above types of municipalities, there are unincorporated improvement districts that have been set up to provide certain municipal services such as protection, waterworks, irrigation, etc. These districts are under the supervision of the Department of Lands, Forests, and Water Resources.

Yukon and Northwest Territories.—In Yukon Territory there are two cities (Whitehorse and Dawson) and one unincorporated town (Mayo). In the Northwest Territories there are two towns (Yellowknife and Hay River), one village and two local improvement districts.

Section 4.—Federal and Provincial Royal Commissions

Federal Royal Commissions Established.—Royal Commissions established from July 1, 1966 to June 30, 1967 under Part I of the Federal Inquiries Act are given here in continuation of those previously reported in the Year Books beginning with the 1940 edition, pp. 1108-1110. Any Commission established between June 30, 1967 and the date of going to press will be found in the Register of Official Appointments, Chapter XXVII, Part III.

Nature of Commission	Chief Commissioner	Date Established
To inquire into the costs of farm machinery and repair parts.	Dr. C. Barber	May 26, 1966
To inquire into the operation of Canadian Security methods and procedures.	M. W. MACKENZIE	Nov. 16, 1966
To inquire into the status of women in Canada.	Mrs. John Bird	Feb. 16, 1967

Reports of Federal Royal Commissions.—Reports of Federal Royal Commissions issued during the period July 1, 1966 to June 30, 1967 were as follows:—

Report of Commission of Inquiry into working conditions in the Post Office Department, established Sept. 1, 1965. Ottawa, 1966. 363 p. \$1. (Cat. No. Z1-1965/2).

Report of Commission of Inquiry into matters relating to one Gerda Munsinger, established Mar. 14, 1966. Ottawa, September 1966. 93 p. \$1. (Cat. No. Z1-1966/2).

Report of Commission of Inquiry re the Hon. L. A. Landreville, established Jan. 19, 1966. Ottawa, 1966. 133 p. \$1. (Cat. No. Z1-1966/3).

Report of Commission of Inquiry into complaints made by George Victor Spencer, established Mar. 7, 1966. Ottawa, 1966. 60 p. 50c. (Cat. No. Z1-1966/1).

Report of the Royal Commission on Taxation, established Sept. 25, 1962. Ottawa, 1966.

Vol. 1, Introduction, acknowledgment and minority reports. 138 p. \$1.75. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-1ad).
Vol. 2, Use of the tax system to achieve economic and social objectives. 353 p. \$3.75. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-2ad).

Vol. 3, Taxation of income: Part A—Taxation of individuals and families. 685 p. \$7. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-3ad).

Vol. 4, Taxation of income (continued): Part B—Taxation of income flowing through intermediaries; Part C—Determination of business income; Part D—International. 848 p. \$8.75. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-4ad).

Vol. 5, Sales taxes and general tax administration: Part A—Sales and excise taxes and duties; Part B—General tax administration. 248 p. \$2.75. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-5ad).

Vol. 6, Implications of the proposed tax reforms. 304 p. \$3.25. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-6ad).

Consolidated index. 119 p. Free with complete set. (Cat. No. Z1-1962/1-7ad).